Trending Topics

Sue Donohoe to join Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame

by Malcolm Butler/Louisiana Tech Athletics
RUSTON, La. – Former Louisiana Tech graduate assistant coach Sue Donohoe will be enshrined into the Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame this summer as part of the Class of 2020.

Donohoe, who received the 2019 Jostens-Berenson Lifetime Achievement Award in recognition of her lifelong commitment of service to women’s basketball and who was the recipient of the Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame’s Dave Dixon Sports Leadership Award in 2017, completed a highly successful career within the NCAA basketball offices.

In 2011, Donohoe was named executive director of the Kay Yow Cancer Fund, a position she held until 2015. Before joining the fund, she had nearly 12 years of experience working as an administrator at the NCAA national office.

She joined the NCAA in 1999 as the director of the NCAA Division I Women’s Basketball Championship and in 2002 she moved into the same position of the men’s championship. The majority of her tenure with the NCAA saw her as vice president of Division I women’s basketball, which began in 2003. She currently serves on the Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame Board of Directors.

Before joining the NCAA, Donohoe served as the assistant and later associate commissioner of the Southland Conference. She moved to the Southland in 1998 after holding the position of associate director of athletics at the University of Arkansas where she was previously the assistant women’s basketball coach.

She also was assistant women’s coach at Stephen F. Austin State University and a teacher coach at Lake Highlands High School (Richardson, Texas) and Carthage High School (Carthage, Texas). Her start in athletics came as a graduate assistant women’s basketball coach at Louisiana Tech University in 1981.

She joins Debbie Brock (Veteran Player), Carol Callan (Contributor), Swin Cash (Player), Tamika Catchings (Player), Lauren Jackson (International Player), and Carol Stiff (Contributor).

The 2020 Induction will mark the 22nd Class of Inductees to be honored by the Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame, which held its grand opening and inaugural induction in 1999. The Class of 2020 will be inducted into the Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame, receiving their coveted Eastman Trophy and Baron Championship Induction Ring, on June 13, 2020, in Knoxville, Tennessee. Tickets for the ceremony are on sale now.

She is the ninth member of the Lady Techster basketball program to be enshrined into the Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame.

Jude YoungSue Donohoe to join Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame