Special Honorees

Distinguished Service Award in Sports Journalism

The most prestigious honor offered to sports media personnel in Louisiana by their peers is the Distinguished Service Award in Sports Journalism.

The Louisiana Sports Writers Association presents the award each year during the Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame ceremonies.

Recipients are chosen by the 30-member Hall of Fame selection committee each year after the annual winter meeting.

Nominees are drawn from the ranks of the LSWA based on their professional accomplishments and impact in local, state, regional and even national arenas.  Candidates must be 60 years old, or have three decades of Journalism credentials, reflecting a lifetime of service in the profession.

Names of the Distinguished Service Award winners have been displayed in the Hall of Fame. There will be a “writer and broadcasters wing” of the Hall of Fame Museum, much as there is in the Baseball Hall of Fame at Cooperstown.

  • 2010s

    Norm Fletcher; Natchitoches Broadcast Legend
    Ted Lewis; Times-Picayune, Baton Rouge Advocate

    Ron Brocato; States-Item, Times-Picayune, Clarion Herald
    Larry Hymel; Southeastern La. University Sports Information

    Bill Bumgarner; States-Item, Times-Picayune
    Butch Muir; Baton Rouge Advocate

    Bob Marshall; Times-Picayune

    Joe Macaluso; Baton Rouge Advocate

    Bobby Dower; Lake Charles American Press
    Glenn Quebedeaux; The Daily Iberian/Baton Rouge Advocate

    Jim Hawthorne, LSU Sports Network Broadcast Legend
    Bob Tompkins, Alexandria Town Talk

    Jim Henderson, New Orleans Sportscaster, Saints Network Broadcast Legend
    Dan McDonald, Media Relations and Journalist

    Scooter Hobbs, Lake Charles American Press
    Lyn Rollins, Louisiana Television Broadcast Legend

    Dave Nitz, Louisiana Tech Broadcast Legend
    Philip Timothy, Gannett Louisiana/Longtime Louisiana sportswriter

  • 2000s

    Sam King, Baton Rouge Advocate/State-Times
    Jerry Pierce, Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame/Northwestern State
    Gerry Robichaux, The Shreveport Times

    Bud Johnson, SLU/LSU/Tulane

    Louis Bonnette, McNeese State Sports Information
    George Sweeney, New Orleans Times Picayune

    Bill Curl, Tulane/The Louisiana Superdome

    Keith Prince, Louisiana Tech/Monroe News-Star

    Buddy Diliberto, WWL-Radio, WDSU-TV

    Jim Wynn; McNeese State, Abbeville Meridional, Alexandria Town Talk, LSWA President
    Marty Mule’, New Orleans Times-Picayune

    Pete Dosher; Louisiana Tech, Grambling
    Arthur Schott; New Orleans Times-Picayune, States-Item, State sports historian

    Ed McHale, Associated Press
    R. L. Stockard; Southern, SWAC, New Orleans

    O. K. “Buddy” Davis; Ruston Daily Leader
    Bob Griffin; Shreveport sportscaster and writer

  • 1990s

    Collie Nicholson, Grambling State Sports Information
    Hap Glaudi; WWL-Radio/TV, New Orleans Item

    Fred Digby; New Orleans Item, Sugar Bowl Classic
    Bill McIntyre, The Shreveport Times

    Connie Kaplan, The Kaplan Herald
    Mike Cook, Baton Rouge Advocate

    M. L. Lagarde, Tulane University Sports Information
    Austin Wilson, Associated Press

    Bob Anderson, Northeast Louisiana University Sports information
    Bernell Ballard, Baton Rouge Advocate

    Jim McLain, The Shreveport Times

    Jerry Byrd; Bossier Press-Tribune, Shreveport Journal
    Joe Planas; The Catholic Commentator, Baton Rouge Advocate

    Roger Brandt, Oplepusas Daily World

    Hal Ledet, L’Observerteur

    Bob Hendreson, University of Southwestern La. Sports Information
    Al Nassif, Alexandria Town Talk

  • 1980s

    Bill Keefe, New Orleans Time Picayune
    Paul Martin, Monroe News-Star
    Bud Montet, Baton Rouge Morning Advocate
    Truman Stacy, Lake Charles American Press

    Jack Fiser, The Shreveport Times

    John Ferguson, LSU and New Orleans Saints radio

    Dan Hardesty, Baton Rouge State Times

    Paul Manasseh, LSU Sports Information

    Ted Castillo, Baton Rouge Advocate

    Bill Carter, Alexandria Daily Town Talk

    Peter Finney, New Orleans Times-Picayune
    Bob Roesler, New Orleans Times-Picayune

Dave Dixon Louisiana Sports Leadership Award

The Dave Dixon Award is presented annually by the LSWA’s 30-member Hall of Fame selection committee to an individual who has played a decisive role as a sports leader or administrator benefiting Louisiana and/or bringing credit to Louisiana on the national and international level.

It is named in honor of Hall of Famer Dave Dixon, the driving force behind bringing the NFL to Louisiana with the creation of the New Orleans Saints franchise.

Dixon, who passed away last fall, is also considered the “father” of the Louisiana Superdome, developing the concept for the innovative domed structure and pushing state officials for its construction in the late 1960s.

  • 2010s

    Gerald Boudreaux; NCAA Basketball Official, SEC Coordinator of Officials

    Elmo Adolph; Boxing Official
    Billy Montgomery; State Legislator

    Dr. L.J. Mayeux; Ducks Unlimited

    Milton Retif; Sports Administrator

    Tynes Hildebrand; Sports Administrator
    Wright Waters; Sports Administrator

    Paul Hoolahan; Sports Administrator

    Dr. Julian Bailes, Sports Medical Research

    Sue Donohoe, Sports Admnistrator

    Steve Gleason, New Orleans Saints Legend

    Marie Gagnard, Tennis Umpire

  • 2000s

    Randy Gregson; U.S. Tennis Association

    Emmanuel “Boozy” Bourgeois, Jr.; Special Olympics Louisiana

    Don Landry; Nicholls State, SLC
    Doug Thornton; Louisiana Superdome

    Dr. James Andrews; Sports Medicine

    George Dement; Youth Sports Activists
    Benny Turcan; Mr. Softball

AdminSpecial Honorees